Baby You’re A Firework

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

One of my favorite things about St. Louis is celebrating the 4th of July here. Fair St. Louis is an event that my friends and I have taken part in for over ten years now and I don’t see it stopping anytime soon. There’s always great concerts, great fireworks, and great friends.

On this day we first headed to Serendipity, a great local ice cream place for some treats. The atmosphere is adorable with cute murals on the walls and very delicious ice cream (I recommend the Gold Coast Chocolate if you like really rich chocolate ice cream).
After we had our ice cream we headed to the fair.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The fair was so hot. Luckily a couple of my friends brought umbrellas we could shade ourselves with (and an awesome shaded playpen for the little one). On the night we went the concerts were a bit of a throwback: Eve 6, Sister Hazel, and 3 Doors Down. It ended up being a really good time, especially when the sun went down.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Although this spread is for Independence Day, its not overtly patriotic. Instead, I chose to do a more subtle Americana theme.

When it comes to creating, stamping is one thing I’ve always been a bit apprehensive about. It’s something I’ve done in the past that worried me: would I ruin this card or photo? I’ve been practicing more and becoming more and more comfortable with it. The “Today’s adventures” stamp on the title card is from a recent Studio Calico kit. The “MEGA HEART EYES” stamp is from A Beautiful Mess and I love it with Miss Izzy’s dancing photo.

IMG_6719

I knew I wanted to use that Find your Tribe card from Gossamer Blue in this layout. For one, it perfectly matched the turquoise and red color scheme I had going on, and two, it pretty much describes how I feel toward my amazing friends. This layout got a bit sappier than a usually do, and I think a lot of it came from my Tim Holtz small talk stickers. Part of the phrases are 4th of July themed from the occasions booklet, but the rest are more lovey-dovey toward my friends (Lol).

IMG_6716
I always really enjoy my 4th of July layouts. Do you have a favorite holiday to document?
Supplies Used
Studio Calico Documenter Kits
Gossamer Blue June 2017 Life Pages Kit
A Beautiful Mess July 2017 Messy Box
Shimelle enamel shapes (similar)
Tim Holtz Small Talk and occasions
*not affillate links, just helping out 😀

1 thought on “Baby You’re A Firework”

Leave a Reply

